• Home
  • News
  • Applicants Sought for Florida Supreme Court Justice

Applicants Sought for Florida Supreme Court Justice

Monday, September 17, 2018 12:31 PM | Nakia Ruffin (Administrator)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
September 12, 2018
CONTACT: Jason L. Unger, Chair
Florida Supreme Court Judicial Nominating Commission
TELEPHONE: (850) 577-9090


TALLAHASSEE, [September 12, 2018] — The Florida Supreme Court Judicial Nominating Commission is accepting applications to fill three positions of Florida Supreme Court Justice, appointed by the Governor, upon the mandatory retirement of Justices Barbara Pariente, R. Fred Lewis, and Peggy Quince.  Based on the Supreme Court’s current composition, one seat must be filled by a qualified applicant who resides in the Third Appellate District; the other two seats are at-large.

Applications may be obtained  from https://www.floridabar.org/directories/jnc/applications/. Applicants must submit (1) an original application (including all attachments); (2) an electronic copy of the original application (including all attachments) in pdf format; and (3) an electronic redacted copy of the original application, which excludes all material that is exempt or confidential under applicable public records laws.

The original signed, unredacted paper application must be provided to JNC Chair Jason L. Unger, GrayRobinson, 301 S. Bronough St., Ste. 600, Tallahassee 32301-1724 no later than 5:00 p.m. on October 8, 2018.  Additionally, an unredacted copy of the original application (including all attachments) and a redacted copy must be e-mailed, in pdf format, to all Commission members by the same date and time.

Applicants who are selected by the Commission for personal interviews will be informed of their interview times by e-mail.

 

The members currently serving on the Supreme Court JNC are:

Chair Unger, Tallahassee, jason.unger@gray-robinson.com

Vice Chair Nilda R. Pedrosa, Coral Gables, nildapedrosa@gmail.com

Cynthia G. Angelos, Port St. Lucie, cynthiagangelos@gmail.com

Fred Karlinsky, Weston, karlinskyf@gtlaw.com

Heather Stearns, Tallahassee, hstearns@libertydentalplan.com

Jesse M. Panuccio, Palm Beach Gardens, panuccio@gmail.com

Israel U. Reyes, Coral Gables, ireyes@reyeslawfirmpa.com

Hala A. Sandridge, Tampa, hala.sandridge@bipc.com

Jeanne T. Tate, Tampa, jeanne@jtatelaw.com

###

Copyright © 2018 Gwen S. Cherry Black Women Lawyers Association